About the Office of the Speaker

The Speaker of the House of Representatives is the presiding officer, political and parliamentary leader of the Nigerian House of Representatives. The position is created by Section 50(1)(b) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria which prescribes that “there shall be a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, who shall be elected by the members of that House from among themselves.

The current Speaker of the House of Representatives is the Rt. Hon. Olufemi Abdulhakeem Gbajabiamila, and the Deputy Speaker is Hon. Ahmed Idris Wase. Both of whom were elected on the 11th of June 2019.

In addition to presiding over the plenary sessions of the House of Representatives, the Speaker serves as the ambassador of the House in engagements with other arms of government and other legislative branches. The Office of the Speaker is also responsible for policy coordination in the House of Representatives. This latter role he executes through the special, standing and ad – hoc committees of the House of Representatives.

# Full Name Portfolio Email Address
1 Prof. Jake Danazumi Chief Of Staff j.danazumi@officeofthespeaker.ng
2 Engr. Jamil Ahmad Muhammad Deputy Chief Of Staff (Administration) j.ahmed@officeofthespeaker.ng
3 Dr. Dunkwu Nnamdi Chamberlain Deputy Chief Of Staff (Legislative) dunkwuchamberlain@officeofthespeaker.ng
4 Dr. Ahmed Dayyabu Safana Special Adviser, Special Duties adsafana@officeofthespeaker.ng
5 Dr. Hamisu Ibrahim Kubau Special Adviser, Political Matters h.ibrahim@officeofthespeaker.ng
6 Musa Abdullahi Krishi Special Adviser, Media And Publicity krishi@officeofthespeaker.ng
7 Lukman Oyewole Lawal Special Assistant, Finance lukman@officeofthespeaker.ng
8 Dr Jerry Uhuo Special Assistant, Policy And Strategy j.uhuo@officeofthespeaker.ng
9 Barr. Samuel Ajayi Special Assistant, Legal Matters s.ajayi@officeofthespeaker.ng
10 Barr. Osazee Melody Ogundijie Special Assistant, Legislative Matters o.melody@officeofthespeaker.ng
11 Barr. Aminu Ramalan Special Assistant, Financial Policy And Budget a.ramalan@officeofthespeaker.ng
12 Amb. Ibrahim Hamidu Gusau Special Assistant, International And Interparliamentary Affairs i.hamidu@officeofthespeaker.ng
13 Lamir Umar Ibrahim Special Assistant, Youth Matters l.umar@officeofthespeaker.ng
14 Olasimbo Yeside Aminat Special Assistant, Women Affairs yeside.olasimbo@officeofthespeaker.ng
15 Hon. Raphael Nnana Igbokwe Special Assistant, Intergovernmental Affairs r.nnana@officeofthespeaker.ng
16 Nura Adamu Special Assistant, Broadcast Media n.adamu@officeofthespeaker.ng
17 Ahmed Baba Musa Special Assistant, Print Media a.musa@officeofthespeaker.ng
18 Olabamiji Enitan Jowosimi Special Assistant, New Media o.enitan@officeofthespeaker.ng
19 Aliyu Garba Waziri Special Assistant, Executive Relations And Job Creation a.garba@officeofthespeaker.ng
20 Muhammad Abdullahi Salame Special Assistant, Information and Communication Technology (ICT) salame@officeofthespeaker.ng
21 Hon. Friday Itulah Special Assistant, Political Matters (South South) f.itulah@officeofthespeaker.ng
22 Hon Godfrey Gaiya Special Assistant, Political Matters (North West) g.gaiya@officeofthespeaker.ng
23 Hanmation Mark Tersoo Special Assistant, Political Matters (North Central) h.mark@officeofthespeaker.ng
24 Hon Zakari Galadima Special Assistant, Political Matters (North East) z.galadima@officeofthespeaker.ng
25 Abdulsalam Babakayode Special Assistant, Political Matters (South West) a.babakayode@officeofthespeaker.ng
26 Hon. Okwudili Christopher Ezenwankwo Special Assistant, Political Matters (South East) o.christopher@officeofthespeaker.ng
27 Hon. Abdulahi Sa’ad Abdulkadir Special Assistant, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) a.saad@officeofthespeaker.ng
28 Abbass Mohammed Murtala Special Assistant, National Security a.mohammed@officeofthespeaker.ng
29 Hussein Musa Egye Special Assistant, Protocol h.musa@officeofthespeaker.ng
30 Zakari Aliyu Principal Private Secretary z.aliyu@officeofthespeaker.ng
31 Luku Baiyewu Chief Press Secretary l.bayeiwu@officeofthespeaker.ng